Elizabeth Gilbert on Creativity

This is an amazing, amazing video. I highly reccomend it if you’re an artist or businessperson esp. Elizabeth Gilbert wrote Eat, Pray, Love (ask your girlfriend) and was faced with the same puzzle all first-time successes face: the pressure of topping it. Her response is simple and inspiring.

She also puts forth a theory of hers that, if embraced, can help end this culture of early deaths for our worlds most talented. Why do we feel like our most talented souls also must be the most tortured in this society? Her answer is mind-blowing.

4 Responses to “Elizabeth Gilbert on Creativity”

  1. I’m a photographer/writer, and I have my moments of anguish when it comes to cultivating these crafts. I often worry about my work not being good enough or acceptable when it comes to the masses. That, at times can be discouraging and I fall into a state of depression, which hinders my creativity.

    I’m glad to have stumbled upon this video via your twitter page, because I’ve had this burning desire to change and get the ball rolling. And after listening to Elizabeth Gilbert speak, especially in the last 2 minutes of the video, I am compelled to just Do It! I realize that just by simply working on my craft without getting distracted by expectations set by myself or others, I will be ok. Thank you for sharing, Haziq.

  2. The mind of the creative is a reflective of the artists self-image. It is full of self-awarness, self-acceptance, self-ridicule, self-sabbotage, and equivocally– self-expression is all of these things. I love love love Elizabeth Glibert work, and she is as great of a writer I aspire to be. I often tell myself, that I won’t succeed as a best selling author until I can write with ultimate perfection like those whom have my admiration. Most creatives believe more in the work of others than their own creativity. At times the illness of self-doubt subdues my dreams! But, when I come to the realization that art is all of what we don’t see, dont want to see and won’t believe if we did. The good, the bad, the ugly. Art is the transformation of those realities. It is our solidification of truthfulness. It represents human nature. As I affirm to reveal the wholeness of me in my writing, I remind myself that my expression has experienced growth through it’s imperfections.

  3. “Most creatives believe more in the work of others than their own creativity.” <-wow. great point- thank you.

Leave a Reply

